Beethoven's 9th

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Beethoven's 9th

My homework for Music is to point out what is different about Beethoven's 9th Symphony. Please can anyone help me as I am new to Beethoven, I an 11 years old. Thankyou

The very opening of the symphony with soft tremolando strings is highly original and was much imitated by later composers. Placing the Scherzo before the Adagio as the 2nd movement was also unusual as was his use of the timpani in the scherzo. In the opening section of the finale the themes of the previous movements are quoted giving an overall unity to the symphony which again was a device used by later composers. But the most obvious difference is that the last movement includes a chorus and vocal soloists.

------------------
    'Man know thyself'
    'Man know thyself'

Comment

Symphony No.9, was the first symphony to introduce the human voice, in the choral finale.
      Beethoven offered the "Ode to Joy" as a hymn of adoration and thanksgiving to God for His goodness, in the anticipation of the ultimate everlasting joy of perfect happiness for all humankind in heaven beyond the starry skies.

Comment

I hadn't realized that the timpani in the scherzo movement was so unusual at the time. Very interesting as that is my favourite symphony instrument. It adds such power and thunder to a piece.

Joy
        'Truth and beauty joined'

Comment

Originally posted by Joy:
          I hadn't realized that the timpani in the scherzo movement was so unusual at the time. Very interesting as that is my favourite symphony instrument. It adds such power and thunder to a piece.

Joy
          I usually feel a little sorry for the tympanist as he/she has to count so many bars before playing a few... "908...909...910...911...am I due for an oil change?...Oh God I missed it!"

But your description was exciting, Joy.

See my paintings and sculptures at Saatchiart.com. In the search box, choose Artist and enter Charles Zigmund.