Flute trio

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Flute trio

I have been enjoying B's major works for many years, and am now getting into the lesser known pieces. I am particularly fond of chamber music, so I picked up the VoxBox of JP Rampal "Complete CM for Flute". They were very negligent in giving pieces a catalog number(except for Opus's, and we know those anyway), but I have been able to track all of them down except the "Trio in G for 3 Flutes". I was able to find a "Bia" listing, but never heard of that before. Would anyone care to enlighten me? Thanks in advance,
    Gurn
    Regards,
    Gurn
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    That's my opinion, I may be wrong.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Originally posted by Gurn Blanston:
    I have been enjoying B's major works for many years, and am now getting into the lesser known pieces. I am particularly fond of chamber music, so I picked up the VoxBox of JP Rampal "Complete CM for Flute". They were very negligent in giving pieces a catalog number(except for Opus's, and we know those anyway), but I have been able to track all of them down except the "Trio in G for 3 Flutes". I was able to find a "Bia" listing, but never heard of that before. Would anyone care to enlighten me? Thanks in advance,
    Gurn
    I possess this Vox box set. I must say that a large proportion of the music in the set is not Beethovens. The arrangement of op25 for flute and piano is not Beethoven's, I think he only corrected the work of someone else. Also there is a sonata that is of very uncertain origin, and this trio you mention - which I think also does not sound very Beethovenian to me. I suggest the sonata and the trio are not Beethoven's, and perhaps this is why they are not catalogued.

------------------
    "If I were but of noble birth..." - Rod Corkin
    http://classicalmusicmayhem.freeforums.org

Comment

Originally posted by Rod: