Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Perhaps a silly Question (Beethoven's voice)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Perhaps a silly Question (Beethoven's voice)

Hey guys, I'm new here. I'm a bit of a novice on Beethoven so I hope you'll bear with me.

What I'm interested in knowing is whether there are any period descriptions of how Beethoven spoke. Whether his voice was deep, high, booming, quiet etc. I'm also keen to know whether his singing voice was ever heard/described by those who knew him.

Thanks in advance,

Curiosity

Welcome Curiosity - people commented on Beethoven having a rather coarse Rhenish accent. I would imagine that like a lot of deaf people he would have spoken fairly loudly - certainly his character was not that of a shy timid person and that was probably reflected in his voice. I don't think his singing voice was much to write home about!
    'Man know thyself'

Comment

I have never really thought about Beethoven's voice. So I think it is a fascinating question. Perhaps there are accounts of his voice? It seems a good thing to keep in mind is that like all voices it would change throughout time and mood.
      - I hope, or I could not live. - written by H.G. Wells

Comment

There are stories about him walking about the fields humming tunes and scaring cattle, but I don't know how true they are. It is well documented that during the composition of the Missa Solemnis he was heard howling and stamping his feet.
        He could neither sing nor dance and, as he said himself: "Beethoven can compose but he can't do one other thing on earth."

Comment

Thanks guys. For some reason, I've always pictured Beethoven (as many people do, I imagine) as possessing a thunderous, aggressive baritone. I suppose that's a result of the often thunderous music.

Comment

Beethoven's father was a singer, funnily enough, a tenor in the choir of the archbishop-elector of Cologne. Apparently, he didn't pass on his vocal gifts to his son!