Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Reading music versus chord based approach for the adult piano beginner.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Reading music versus chord based approach for the adult piano beginner.

I would like to say firstly, that I'm a 46 year old beginner on piano, as some of you know already, ( not even grade 1, never took any exams) and that this discussion is not meant to start any arguments, but to start a discussion on different approaches to piano learning/playing.

I would also like to state that I have discalculia and that makes sight reading difficult for me, though I keep on with it. I am not a fan of pop music, as you all probably know, which of course is generally easier to learn to play! I have some "easy beginner" sheet music of classical music, such as the theme of the 7th symphony, the Surprise symphony etc and I enjoy this far more than practising pop music ( which of course would be an easier job!).

I do have pianoforall course and was a while back working on book one and learning chords via pop tunes like The Beatles- I found this fairly easy.

My brother plays piano ( just been to his flat today to see his new Yamaha DP). He has been playing for years and did a music course at college about 20 years ago, which was the chords based approach- with no reading music. He cannot read music, but his playing far far surpasses mine. He started playing aged about 18. He can play by ear also, has written music and played in bands.