Beethoven difficult ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Beethoven difficult ?

Musicians complained, when Beethoven set his music before them, that it was too difficult to play ?Is this so?
    "Finis coronat opus "

Beethoven's music is not easy! Of the sonatas I can only think of one or two movements that could be attempted by anyone below Associated Board grade 8 standard (not the same as American grades - I have no idea what the equivalent in the US would be, but our grade 8 music exam is the final one before taking diplomas).

Even the early sonatas are generally more difficult than those of Haydn or Mozart. Since Beethoven's time much more technically demanding music has been written - as a pianist I'm thinking of Liszt, Brahms, Rachmaninov, Prokoviev and Bartok.

------------------
    'Man know thyself'
    'Man know thyself'

Comment

Originally posted by Peter:
      Beethoven's music is not easy! Of the sonatas I can only think of one or two movements that could be attempted by anyone below Associated Board grade 8 standard (not the same as American grades - I have no idea what the equivalent in the US would be, but our grade 8 music exam is the final one before taking diplomas).

Even the early sonatas are generally more difficult than those of Haydn or Mozart. Since Beethoven's time much more technically demanding music has been written - as a pianist I'm thinking of Liszt, Brahms, Rachmaninov, Prokoviev and Bartok.

Peter,
      Is this not because the class of professional musicians had risen to more prominence by that point in history? My perception is that esp. sonatas in earlier times were written particularly for amateurs, who were likely quite capable, but certainly not of the quality of professionals. True??
      Regards, Gurn
      Regards,
      Gurn
      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
      That's my opinion, I may be wrong.
      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Comment

Originally posted by spaceray: