Naked

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Naked

If I were Beethoven I would feel naked because of having composed such intimate works as the last quartets. They uncover the soul of a complex man, and let us investigate his also very complicated psyche. What do you think about this? What do you think Sigmund Freud would have said (excuse me for my grammar errors, I'm just a student) if he had analized Beethoven?

Yes the late quartets delve deep into his soul - to me they seem accepting (gone is the defiance of the middle period)and to go beyond the sufferings of this world - particularly the slow movements which are very spiritual. As to Beethoven's psyche, I think there was an enormous anger bubbling below the surface, that could explode for the slightest reason - this stemmed from the frustrations of his deafness and let's not forget, many other physical ailments which in themselves must have been distressing.

------------------
    'Man know thyself'
    'Man know thyself'

Comment

Originally posted by chopithoven:
      What do you think Sigmund Freud would have said (excuse me for my grammar errors, I'm just a student) if he had analized Beethoven?
      Whatever he would have said, it probably would have been incorrect! Solomon's psychoanalysis of Beethoven is bad enough already!

------------------
      "If I were but of noble birth..." - Rod Corkin
      http://classicalmusicmayhem.freeforums.org

Comment

Originally posted by Rod:
        Whatever he would have said, it probably would have been incorrect! Solomon's psychoanalysis of Beethoven is bad enough already!

Beethoven, Bad enough already??...I don't think so.

------------------
        freedom for all- Ludwig Van Beethoven

Comment

Originally posted by ~Immortal Beloved~:
          Beethoven, Bad enough already??...I don't think so.

I thought I made it clear that it's Solomon's psychoanalysis that is bad.

------------------

Comment