How do YOU listen to music?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do YOU listen to music?

Would contributors like to discuss HOW they listen to music? For example, harmony, melody, text and music, structure, etc. Any combination or none of these and something else.

Originally posted by Bonn1827 View Post
    Would contributors like to discuss HOW they listen to music? For example, harmony, melody, text and music, structure, etc. Any combination or none of these and something else.
    Your question has brought down an avalanche of comment, Bonn. It is a good question. May I wait a little before I put in my boorish 5-cents worth?

Comment

This has been a difficult issue for me. As a student I've always been mindful of formal structure and the motivic development within. As a performer the development of ideas and harmonic structure take precedence. As a casual listener I focus more on textures and timbres, along with melodic flow. Is there a correct way to listen to music?

Comment

Bonn's question is quite enormous in its scope when you stop to consider its implications. Once again, our written language will be seen to be deficient.
        My first point would be the difference between "listening" and "hearing". The French have three verbs related to aural phenomena : "écouter" (listen), "entendre" (hear") and "ouir" ("listen", but with a sense of "perceive").
        As far as I can gather from the listenig habits of forum members (based on a sample panel of about 5), many seem to adopt a listening mode between "hearing" and "perceiving" whilst gardening, jogging, doing the ironing and other such activities.
        Relating my comments to the classical Canon (the "musuem" of the classical repertory), I would hope for more focus on the "écouter" and "ouir" modes.