I tried, But I can't!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I tried, But I can't!

I have tried my hardest to only mention Beethoven but there is something that I need to ask everyone about what they like in a concerto. I am going to perform Mozarts flute and harp concerto (2nd mvt. only, because there is other performers) and my small city of Blenheim have been blessed with an orchestra and a good harp player. I have only played in a twin concerto a few times, and I am very nervous about it, they are all alot better than me. If you were going to this performance (and you would because I am also playing again the fifth symphony, yaeh, I like that oboe part), what do you hate seeing soloists do. For example, my music teacer hates seeing the soloist move around alot. It is a bit distracting. But I am very open to your comments.

Thankyou

oboe_15

------------------
    Beethoven and all composers Rock!
    Beethoven and all composers Rock!

As a pianist I'd say tapping the feet was pretty damn annoying. Grunting, groaning, swaying around, any exagerated movements and painful contortions of the face are particularly off-putting!

As you'll be standing up, I'd say keep both feet on the ground - no jumping in the air!
    Oh and if you receive rapturous applause don't overdo the bowing or the audience may start laughing - I recall one poor Chinese girl who couldn't stop herself and kept touching her toes - one of the funniest things I've seen!!!

------------------
    'Man know thyself'

[This message has been edited by Peter (edited 08-05-2001).]
    'Man know thyself'

Comment

Hey oboe 15!

Don't worry about it. My choir director use to tell me focus on a object and pay very close attention to it. Do not look at the audience and look above their heads. I know I do when I sing it make me feel very comfortable inside when I do. Look at the conductor though. Relax and just have fun.

------------------

Comment

Originally posted by joel fienen: