The good in Beethoven

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The good in Beethoven

First let me say, I am somewhat new to Beethoven. Now, after reading some of the things on this forum, I was a little bit surprised.

When some people think Beethoven they think: tough, power, darkness, ect. While others, whom I consider right, think peace, life, care, full of love for nature, sprituality, ect.

The reason I feel these ways is because I feel that Beethoven was a good man with serious problems that prohibited him for being able to show his goodness, some of the time. One thing that tells us this is the Heiligenstadt Statement: "O ye men who think or say that I am hostile, stubborn or misanthropic, how greatly do you wrong me!"

The music also tells us this. Charles Hazlewood said that,"When I’m learning a score by Beethoven, we fight like dogs". I feel that is wrong. Alot of Beethoven's music that I have heard is unbelievably peaceful or humorous, spiritual, caring, and filled with life. Beethoven wrote an entire symphony on nature (6th Symphony). Could you imagine all the feelings of life: green grass, blue skies, the earth, water. Now that is extemely good natured.

Some people associate him with his symphonies and not his sonata, concerti, ect. For those people I could see why you think power when you hear them, but you should look more into the composer. Alot of composer's symphonies have a stronger darker side. Take Mozart for example, his mature symphonies had a darker side to some of his movements, as did many of his other works, as did many of Beethoven's.

We are talking about a person so spiritual that he could write the Missa Solemnis. That is amazing.

I was wondering what other people thought about this subject.

Kind Regards,
    Preston
    - I hope, or I could not live. - written by H.G. Wells