Rough Notes on the Life and Career of Mozart

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rough Notes on the Life and Career of Mozart

It's now possible to say with some certainty that the public life and career of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-91) was as much due to intrigue and downright falsehood as the birth of a specially gifted child of a Jesuit educated musician at Salzburg.

Having finished some quite detailed studies of the background to the circumstances under which Mozart burst in to prominence as a composer I would like to sketch what I think may be a sustainable outline for future studies of his career. In doing this I realise that on some fundamental issues I will have different views with some great and helpful researchers such as Giorgio Taboga (though we still tread paths that are remarkably parallel in many ways).

Besides, since this year of 2006 is one of non-stop celebration marking the 250th anniversary of Mozart's birth in Salzburg my own comments on his life and career are will be of no signficance to the vast majority of music lovers.

In Italy during the 18th century huge strides were made in almost all areas of music theory and practice, these eventually focusing (as Taboga rightly says) on mathematics, acoustics and music theory. This movement really came together at Padua and it formed the nucleus of a school - one whose achievements in many areas of music would soon have huge significance in Germany and Austria. This Padua school (which was composed of many great scholars including, eventually, Andrea Luchesi, Valotti and others) was well known to the most famous music theoretician of Europe at the time, Padre Martini of Bologna.