Sonatina in G

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sonatina in G

Hi, everyone, this is my first time posting on this board. I have a question, I am sure you experts can answer. I have been trying to track down a piece by Beethoven ("Sonatina for Piano in G") but can't find anything about it or any recordings. Can anyone help me? Is it normally under a different name? Thanks!

Originally posted by HaydnFan:
    Hi, everyone, this is my first time posting on this board. I have a question, I am sure you experts can answer. I have been trying to track down a piece by Beethoven ("Sonatina for Piano in G") but can't find anything about it or any recordings. Can anyone help me? Is it normally under a different name? Thanks!

I recall an LP called "the art of the sonatina" that featured, amongst others, the sonatinas in G and F of Beethoven. The sheet music of all 7 Beethoven sonatinas should be available at any good music store.

Hofrat
    "Is it not strange that sheep guts should hale souls out of men's bodies?"

Comment

Originally posted by Hofrat:

I recall an LP called "the art of the sonatina" that featured, amongst others, the sonatinas in G and F of Beethoven. The sheet music of all 7 Beethoven sonatinas should be available at any good music store.

Hofrat
      Hofrat, I'm not aware of 7 Beethoven sonatinas - even the two well known ones in F & G are now considered to be spurious. Do you have any more info on these other sonatinas?

------------------
      'Man know thyself'
      'Man know thyself'

Comment

Originally posted by Peter:
        Hofrat, I'm not aware of 7 Beethoven sonatinas - even the two well known ones in F & G are now considered to be spurious. Do you have any more info on these other sonatinas?

I think I have these 'spurious' pieces on CD. Though not significant pieces, I must say they could pass for Beethoven to my ears.

------------------
        "If I were but of noble birth..." - Rod Corkin