Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Good Beethoven Biography?

Hello,

I recently purchase a serious of collected fragments written by Theodor Adorno on Beethoven. It's a good book - trouble is, I can't understand half of it, and it's not what I was looking for anyway.
    Having returned the book, I back on the trail for a good biography covering Beethovens life and as much as possible analysing his works.
    I'm a secondary school student studying GCSE Music in the UK and want some background reading material to compliment this and my love for Beethoven's music. I don't want a music textbook or dictionary of music though.

Has anyone got any good suggestions for biographies on this influential genius?

You might want to try Beethoven: The Music and the Life, by Lewis Lockwood. It is a biography, but at the end of each section, Lockwood talks about individual compositions from different periods in Beethoven's life. I liked it.

Comment

A book that deals specifically with the works is the Beethoven companion edited by Denis Arnold and Nigel Fortune (Faber).

Or perhaps,

Beethoven: His Life, Work and World, H.C. Robbins Landon, Thames & Hudson. 1993. ISBN 0500015406 (hardcover)

------------------
      'Man know thyself'
      'Man know thyself'

Comment

I recently was given this exact Adorno book as a gift. I have just started it, but I plan to read it this summer. It is a philsophical book. One of those books that make you feel stupid until you realize that nobody else can understand it either. Here is an example:

"Beethoven may represent an attempt to circumvent the ban on images. His music is not an image of anything, and yet is an image of the whole: an imageless image."

He took the words right out of my mouth.

Comment

Heh, I read that part of the book! I like the quote, but as a biography it wasnt what I was looking for.