Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

On this day

Antonin Dvorák died on May 1. 1904 in Prague. †

In memoriam to this great composer, I salute with op.104, Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra.

Pastorali thank you very much for that posting. I have been listening to Dvorak for many years and have always thought his symphonies in particular to be works of exquisite melody and passion. Only yesterday was I listening to Leonard Bernstein and (I think) the New York Philharmonic with no 7 which was superb. Your reminding me of his centenary will inspire me to find more works by this wonderful composer

------------------
    Love from London
    Love from London

Comment

Originally posted by Pastorali:
      Antonin Dvorák died on May 1. 1904 in Prague. †

In memoriam to this great composer, I salute with op.104, Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra.
      The 'cello concerto is magnificent, I think along with his 8th symphony the finest music he wrote. Now if only Beethoven had written a 'cello concerto!

------------------
      'Man know thyself'
      'Man know thyself'

Comment

Last night on the radio they dedicated a whole hour to Dvorak's music in honour of him. They played his 8th symphony among others of his, just a wonderful hour!

------------------
        'Truth and beauty joined'
        'Truth and beauty joined'

Comment

Originally posted by Peter:
          The 'cello concerto is magnificent, I think along with his 8th symphony the finest music he wrote. Now if only Beethoven had written a 'cello concerto!

I've recently preferred the 7th Symphony but the 8th is a great one for sure!

Comment

Originally posted by Peter:

Well, every genre he touched he turned to gold, but in his cello sonatas alone you will find no better music for that instrument.

------------------
            "If I were but of noble birth..." - Rod Corkin
            http://classicalmusicmayhem.freeforums.org

Comment

Originally posted by Rod: