Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Beethoven "fan" here.......

Hi all,

I'm just getting into Beethoven and don't really know what to look for at the record shop. I'd be really greatful if anybody can suggest what to start my Beethoven "collection"with.

Much Thanks

O Boogie.

P.S. I usually listen to Beatles, Stones, The Who, ect..... so this is new territory for me

------------------
    "It's all in the mind."
    "It's all in the mind."

Originally posted by O Boogie:
    Hi all,

I'm just getting into Beethoven and don't really know what to look for at the record shop. I'd be really greatful if anybody can suggest what to start my Beethoven "collection"with.

Much Thanks

O Boogie.

P.S. I usually listen to Beatles, Stones, The Who, ect..... so this is new territory for me

Try the second movement of Symphony No.7--it'll seem pretty serene after all that rock!

Comment

Welcome to the board Boogie Man
      It was for me a similar way to Beethoven. I made good experiences with his Symphonies first. But don't buy a single CD, look out for a whole set of it. I was busy for more than half a year, just to listen to all these great Symphonies. Good fun!!!
      And of course, I'm still busy with it now and in future too!

Comment

Symphonies 3,5,7,9
        Piano Concertos 4&5
        Overtures: Egmont, and Consecration of the house
        Piano sonatas: Pathetique, Moonlight, Waldstein, Appassionata
        String Quartets: Razumovsky Op.59

That should get you started!

------------------
        'Man know thyself'
        'Man know thyself'

Comment

Hi again,

Thanks for your replies I'll have to suss some of these out

Best Regards

'O Boogie.

"It's all in the mind."

Comment

Always glad to have another Beethovian on board! All of the above suggestions are well worth trying and may I add a couple of his earlier violin sonatas Opus 12 and Opus 24 #5 "Spring." Very nice. What made you start getting into Beethoven?

------------------