How I came to this forum

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How I came to this forum

I was actually reading about Carl Orff's "Carmina Burana" when the Amazon site listings of composers caught my eye. "What did Beethoven die of?" it asked, among other attention-getting references to composers. The first answer that came to mind was "disgust," and while I was laughing (I'm a trained musician, so I know that's not technically true, but why was he shaking his fists at the heavens, as the lightning flashed, just before his last breath?), I clicked into this site. Glad I did--nice!

Originally posted by ILoveLudwig:
    I was actually reading about Carl Orff's "Carmina Burana" when the Amazon site listings of composers caught my eye. "What did Beethoven die of?" it asked, among other attention-getting references to composers. The first answer that came to mind was "disgust," and while I was laughing (I'm a trained musician, so I know that's not technically true, but why was he shaking his fists at the heavens, as the lightning flashed, just before his last breath?), I clicked into this site. Glad I did--nice!

May I say that I think that the legend Beethoven shook his fist at the heavens on his death bed, is just that - a legend or myth.

The story of Beethoven apparently 'shaking his fist at the heavens' in a final act of defiance before oblivion has been dismissed as a romantic fiction by most biographers.
    Surprisingly, this phenomenon is an accurate clinical observation: people who die of hepatic failure often react in an exaggerated way to sudden stimuli such as bright light. This is due to the accumulation of toxic waste products normally excreted by the liver.
    Beethoven's gestsure may be seen as having been due to the cerebral irritation which accompanies hepatic failure, not as a conscious act!

[This message has been edited by Amalie (edited April 13, 2004).]
    ~ Courage, so it be righteous, will gain all things ~

Comment

Amalie,