Listening experiences II

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Listening experiences II

I'm no musician and I never had any musically education (All I have is probably taste ). When I listen the first time to a particular piece of music, then I often need time, to get closer to this 'new' music. I love these processes, while I'm getting closer to a work, to all the contextes, the fine nuances, melodies, or the whole form. For me, it needs then many times to listen to. Each time I do, the music is going to be more impressive and beautiful and becomes more and more a own character to me. Well, I must say, I love this experience and discovering of classical music!! When I think about such great compositions like the incomparable Symphony in D, I guess this process will last lifelong.

How are your experiences? Maybe even similar? How is that for musicians? I think, it is much easier for a musically educated person, to 'understand' music, or to come easily close, isn't it?

The listening experiences I had as a child, before I really "knew anything" about music were generally more intense than they are now. Sometimes I get caught up in too much critical thinking or analyzing the music as it unfolds. It is my goal to someday get back to the enjoyment I had as a child, spending my allowance on LPs at garage sales and hurrying back to listen to them.

There is something about familiarity. I am often very interested, intrigued and even moved hearing something for the first time, but when you hear a piece that is familiar sometimes it really triggers a flood of emotions.

I am sure this has something to do with device of recapitulation in our beloved sonata allegro form...

Comment