Symphony #2: Larghetto & Finale question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Symphony #2: Larghetto & Finale question

Excuse if I sound like an utter neophyte...but is Symphony 2 the only time LvB had a slow mvt in Sonata Form and a final mvt in Rondo Form? I know all the concertos have Rondos for finales, but I can't recall another symphony that does.
    I also notice there is no repeat in the "sonata form" of the Larghetto.
    Repeats only expected in first mvts?

As far as I understand it, only four of the symphonies have slow movements in strict sonata form: 1, 2 4 and 6.

The Eroica's second movement is a gigantic rondo and Nos. 5,7 and 9 appear to be mixtures of rondo, sonata and variation form.
    The slow movement of No. 8 (which isn't even slow) is a bit of an oddity - I see it as sonata form without a development section but I'm no expert.

Six of his last movements are in sonata form: 1,2,4,5,7 and 8.
    No. 6 ends with a sonata-rondo. The Eroica's finale could be described as being in variation form and the last movement of the 9th is so complex that even experts disagree on its shape.

Comment

Originally posted by Michael View Post
      As far as I understand it, only four of the symphonies have slow movements in strict sonata form: 1, 2 4 and 6.

No. 6 ends with a sonata-rondo.[/FONT]
      That sonata-rondo is quite confusing to me!
      No. 2 is likewise BOTH sonata and rondo.

I've seen it broken down in various different ways by experts.
      One says: ABA' CA''B'A''' + Coda (btw, I have no idea what those accent marks are for!)
      Or Robert Greenberg will group it into a sonata form:
      AB (Exposition) C (Development) AB (Recap) A+Coda (Coda)

Are they both right?
      Or both wrong?
      It really begs the question: Is there any significant difference between Sonata and Rondo?
      Thank you for any input! I am a non-musician and just intensely curious about form.
      Cheers!

Comment